5 things I did (or wish I did) before baby!

So my sweet little munchkin is now 13 months old and we are slowly (so very slowly) contemplating baby #2. It won’t be soon but I can see him (or her) as a possibility in the next few years. There are some things that I thought I would do before baby L came along and some of them I don’t mind that I skipped (custom baby hangers for each clothing size) and some that I do! So I’m making a list of things I refuse to skip next time around!

1. I premade freezer meals for at least 4-5 dinners. I wish I had done even more! Breakfast was easy enough and lunch really wasn’t so bad either but dinner became the second take-out meal of the day or resulted in a trip to the store as soon as my husband walked in the door. I wish I had stocked up on around 2 weeks worth of dinners. It would have been worth cleaning out the freezer for!

2. I never took pictures of my belly! I think I can count on one hand the pictures I have of me pregnant. If I were a celebrity people would think I had paid someone to carry my little man due to lack of proof. However, I threw up from about week 6 to week 36 of pregnancy so I really didn’t have the energy or desire to try to take cute pictures of me pregnant. What I never considered was that I could have just thrown on the one maternity dress I had and had my husband snap a picture from chest down. No one had to see my face!

3. I didn’t schedule a newborn photographer or take some of the special pictures I had planned. Thank GOODNESS I had my little sister bring my dad’s nice DSLR to the hospital to get some good shots. However, I had planned on having some pictures of just me, my husband, and baby before everyone swarmed in but I sort of forgot about that in the midst of the whole, I just had a baby thing! Next time I’ll give my sister or husband (if I think he’ll remember) a short list of pictures I want taken. Or just hire someone! At the time the cost seemed too much, now I’m wishing I had done it!

4. Asked my mom to come over and help clean the house before hand! My house could have really used a deep clean and I know my mother would have loved to come over and helped me scour tile before our first baby was born. Not that our house wasn’t clean but it would have been nice if we could have really gotten those dust bunnies taken care of before we came home from the hospital.

5. Load up on different kinds of healthy snacks. I was breastfeeding and I was hungry ALL THE TIME. My husband’s cousin gave us some homemade trail mix with dark chocolate and shelled pistachios, there were other things in there as well but mostly I remember that. It was delicious and I had a few handfuls every night in the middle of a nursing session. I’m not sure how healthy it was but it was mostly nuts, some dried fruit, and the dark chocolate. I also ate goldfish, popcorn (light butter), carrot sticks w/ nut butter, apple slices w/ nut butter, and crackers and hummus.

These are the five top things I’m going to remember to do next time. It will be more important that some of them get done, like number 1 and 5 because I’ll have a toddler to take care of as well!

 

Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

