Healthier (but still tasty) Lactation Cookies

Okay, so I found a recipe for Lactation cookies and first I made the recipe how I found it. This batch was definitely good, I could sort of taste the Brewer’s Yeast still but it wasn’t too bad. Unfortunately I went through what was supposed to make 42 cookies in about 4 days. So I needed to change up the recipe just a little bit so I’d feel just a bit less guilty. I’ve included the original recipe and just added my changes out to the side in italics. You can make all the changes I did or just some! I’m sure they’d still turn out fine.

1 cup butter (1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce)
1 cup sugar (1/2 cup sugar)
1 cup brown sugar
4 tablespoons flax seed
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups flour (1 cup regular flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour)
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons brewer’s yeast (I did 3 tbls)
3 cup rolled oats
1 cup chocolate chips (1 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips)

1. Mix the flour, baking soda, salt, brewer’s yeast and oats in a bowl and set aside.
2. Cream together butter and sugars and applesauce (it will look a little lumpy, that’s okay)
3. Add eggs, vanilla and flax to the butter and sugar mixture and mix well.
4. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet, mixing well after each addition.
5. Stir in chocolate chips

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

The adjusted recipe that I came up with actually came out with fluffier cookies then the ones I made before. Taste-wise was actually about the same.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

